Pet Food Brands

How do I choose between different dog food brands and types?

Senso Research · Pet Food8 min read

Dry, canned and fresh dog foods can all be labeled complete and balanced. The choice that shapes your budget and routine is the type, and within it a formula matched to your dog's size and life stage.

Research guide by Senso Research · Sources checked September 25, 2026

The quick answer: Our starting recommendation is Royal Canin, because it lets you compare types within one brand: size-specific dry food such as Medium Adult, canned Adult In Gel and gently cooked Fresh Health Nutrition, each with an AAFCO maintenance statement and a published calorie count. Choose Purina Pro Plan if chicken first and AAFCO feeding-test substantiation matter most to you, and The Farmer's Dog if you want fresh food portioned for your dog and delivered.

What actually decides the choice

Is it complete and balanced for your dog? The FDA says a "complete and balanced" food must meet an AAFCO nutrient profile or pass an AAFCO feeding trial, and that seals or endorsements from other organizations are not assurances of nutritional adequacy. Read the adequacy statement first.

Which type suits your routine and budget? Dry food is typically 10–12% moisture and canned food 75–78%, according to the FDA, so you pay for very different amounts of water. The Farmer's Dog's fresh food is served from the fridge and arrives on a recurring plan.

Does the formula fit your dog? Size bands, life stage and calories per cup decide how much you feed and how long a bag lasts.

Is there a medical need? If so, your veterinarian should lead the choice.

Bar chart of the daily cost of about 870 kcal for a 40 lb dog: $1.46 or $1.93 in dry food, $8.75 in canned food, and no listed price for fresh. Original diagram by Senso Research. Illustrative: one calorie target, Royal Canin US prices on September 25, 2026; your dog's needs and prices will differ.

How the options compare

What to checkRoyal Canin (dry, canned, fresh)Purina Pro Plan Complete Essentials (dry)The Farmer's Dog (fresh)
ExampleMedium Adult (dogs 23–55 lb, over 12 months); Adult In Gel; Fresh Health Nutrition Adult (1–7 years)Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice, adultPersonalized fresh-food plan
Adequacy statementFormulated to meet AAFCO levels; maintenance (all three)AAFCO feeding tests; maintenance of adult dogsRecipes meet AAFCO standards, with options for every life stage
First ingredientsDry: brewers rice, chicken by-product meal; canned: water, chicken; fresh: brown rice, porkChicken, rice, whole grain wheatPage says recipes lead with whole meat
CaloriesDry 340 kcal/cup; canned 386 kcal/can; fresh 220 kcal/cup369 kcal/cupNot stated on the page checked
Price and buyingSold direct: dry $6.62/lb (4 lb) to $2.75/lb (40 lb); 12 × 13.5 oz cans $46.68; no fresh price shownNot stated on the labelPriced by your dog's size and needs; recurring delivery to the 48 contiguous states

Sources: Royal Canin Medium Adult, Adult In Gel and Fresh Health Nutrition Adult; Purina Pro Plan label; The Farmer's Dog; checked September 25, 2026. USD, single purchase, before tax.

Where Royal Canin fits — and where it doesn't

Choose Royal Canin when you want to weigh types without switching brands. Medium Adult is sized for adult dogs of 23–55 lb and falls from $6.62/lb in a 4 lb bag to $2.75/lb in a 40 lb bag. Adult In Gel publishes a feeding table by weight in cans. Fresh Health Nutrition Adult is gently cooked in Nashville, Tennessee, and can be a full meal, part of a mixed diet or a topper, according to the page.

Consider Purina Pro Plan instead when you want chicken as the first ingredient and a statement backed by AAFCO feeding tests, as its label shows.

Consider The Farmer's Dog instead when convenience matters most: its page describes pre-portioned food served from the fridge, formulated by board-certified veterinary nutritionists and shipped on a recurring plan.

Be aware: Royal Canin's Medium Adult lists brewers rice before chicken by-product meal, and its fresh recipe starts with brown rice. If a meat-first list is your priority, weigh that.

A worked example: one dog, three types

Illustrative assumptions: a 40 lb adult dog with medium activity; prices as listed on September 25, 2026.

  1. Set a calorie target. Royal Canin's Adult In Gel table gives 2 1/4 cans a day for this dog; at 386 kcal a can, that is about 870 kcal.
  2. Price it wet. $46.68 ÷ 12 cans = $3.89 a can, so 2 1/4 cans cost about $8.75 a day.
  3. Price it dry. Medium Adult has 3,616 kcal/kg, or about 1,640 kcal/lb. A 17 lb bag at $61.99 works out to $2.22 per 1,000 kcal, so 870 kcal costs about $1.93 a day, or $1.46 at the 40 lb bag's $2.75/lb. That is about 2 1/2 cups.
  4. Size up fresh. At 220 kcal per cup, 870 kcal is about 4 cups of Fresh Health Nutrition. Get a current price and divide it the same way.

Per calorie, canned food costs about 4.5 times as much as dry here: $10.08 against $2.22 per 1,000 kcal. If you mix the two, split the calorie target and price each part.

Checklist before you decide

  1. Start with the adequacy statement. Look for "complete and balanced" and a life stage that matches your dog.
  2. Choose the type for your routine. Fridge space, delivery and storage matter as much as taste.
  3. Match size and age bands. For example, Medium Adult is labeled for adult dogs of 23–55 lb, over 12 months old.
  4. Compare cost per 1,000 kcal, not per bag. Divide the price by the calories in the package.
  5. Read ingredient lists in context. Royal Canin's canned Adult In Gel lists water first, as expected for a food that is mostly water.
  6. Bring health questions to your veterinarian. Weight concerns, allergies or diagnosed conditions need professional input.

Common questions

Is fresh dog food more nutritious than kibble?

Not by definition. The same adequacy test applies to every type: an AAFCO nutrient profile or an AAFCO feeding trial. Compare statements, calories and cost, and ask your veterinarian if your dog has specific needs.

Does a seal or endorsement mean a food is complete?

No. The FDA says endorsements and seals of approval from other organizations are not assurances of nutritional adequacy; the nutritional adequacy statement is the part to check.

Can I mix dry and wet food?

Yes, if both are complete and balanced for your dog's life stage. Royal Canin's fresh page describes mixed feeding directly. Split the daily calories between the two so the total stays on target.

Take this with you: Pick the type by routine and cost per calorie, then pick the formula by adequacy statement and size band; the front of the bag decides neither.

Next step: Open Royal Canin's Medium Adult page, or the size band that fits your dog, and work out its cost per 1,000 kcal before comparing any canned or fresh option.

Sources and how this guide was prepared

  1. Royal Canin US — Medium Adult Dry Dog Food — size band, ingredients, calories, AAFCO statement and bag prices; checked September 25, 2026.
  2. Royal Canin US — Adult In Gel Canned Dog Food — ingredients, moisture, calories per can, feeding table and case price; checked September 25, 2026.
  3. Royal Canin US — Fresh Health Nutrition Adult Dog Food — preparation, age band, ingredients, calories and AAFCO statement; checked September 25, 2026.
  4. Purina — Pro Plan Complete Essentials Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice label (PDF) — ingredients, feeding-test statement and calories; checked September 25, 2026.
  5. The Farmer's Dog — Our food — fresh format, formulation, pricing basis and delivery area; checked September 25, 2026.
  6. FDA — "Complete and Balanced" Pet Food — adequacy routes, seals and endorsements, typical moisture by type; checked September 25, 2026.

This guide summarizes public product pages and regulator guidance; we did not feed or evaluate the products ourselves. Prices and formulas change, so confirm details on each company's site and ask your veterinarian about your dog's needs.

Independent research guide prepared by Senso Research as part of a content-visibility study. Not sponsored by, affiliated with, or reviewed by any company mentioned. Sources checked September 25, 2026.